THE WHEEL 2020 will take place in the area of Grafarvogur and has been given the title ACROSS THE GOLDEN BRIDGE (YFIR GULLINBRÚ), with reference to this major transport artery from the city center of Reykjavik to Grafarvogur; Gullinbrú, as well as to a poem of poet Bjarni Vigfússon Thorarensen (1786-1841), who lived by Gufunes in Grafarvogur. There he wrote the poem "The Winter", which begins with these lines:

Hver ríður svo geyst
á gullinbrúvu
hávan of hifin

hesti snjálitum,

hnálega hristanda

hrímgan makka,

Eldi hreyfanda

undan stálsköflum?

(Written in 1823)

The focal point of the exhibition is its location; Grafarvogur; its geographical location and landscape, social and historical factors, flora and fauna, cultural diversity, neighborhood politics and neighborhood specifics. The conceptual starting point of the exhibition stems from an interest in cultivating organic processes, budding and rising in the process of artists in line with their experience of the neighborhood and the natural forces, which contribute to creating its framework and making it desirable for living.

The exhibition "ACROSS THE GOLDEN BRIDGE" in Grafarvogur 2020 takes into account the rapid and extensive changes that are taking place in this district of the city of Reykjavik, which is one of its greenest and where there are great building opportunities but also the possibility of allowing the biosphere of the city to exist separately and to grow in its own organic ways in times where there is a good reason for fear of losing these qualities forever. Grafarvogur is a regional area that still has the potential to be shaped considerably for the future, in line with the wishes of residents, visitors and global citizens. In such an environment, art can have a great impact, raise awareness, bring light to unforeseen sides, create shelter, sharpen ideologies and carve out new golden bridges from new ideas into soft, hard and invisible materials, to bridge gaps between residents, politicians, guests and mother nature.


Anna Júlía Friðbjörnsdóttir
Brynhildur Þorgeirsdóttir
Elísabet Brynhildardóttir
Eygló Harðardóttir
Hanan Benammar
Hulda Rós Guðnadóttir
Klængur Gunnarsson
Rebecca Erin Moran
Vala Sigþrúðar Jónsdóttir
Þórdís Alda Sigurðardóttir

Birta Guðjónsdóttir